Connect with us


Bayern won the Super Cup against European League winner Sevilla

Bayern won the Super Cup against European League winner Sevilla

The Bayern players defeated Sevilla in the final in Budapest after a 2-1 (1-1) overtime and became the winners of the UEFA Super Cup for the second time in history.

Leon Goretzka (34) and Javi Martinez (104) scored for Bayern, and Lucas Ocampos (13pen) for Sevilla.

At the Puskas Arena in Budapest, Bayern and Sevilla played the 45th edition of the UEFA Super Cup and since the start of the pandemic, UEFA allowed the presence of spectators for the first time, so the allowed third of the stadium’s capacity was met.

Bayern came to Budapest on the wings of an impressive 8-0 win over Schalke in the Bundesliga, but European League winner Sevilla proved to be a very tough nut to crack.

The match started shockingly for the European champion, Alaba knocked down Ivan Rakitic in the penalty area with his hands in the 12th minute, and for the lead of Seville, the Argentine Lucas Ocampos scored from the penalty spot.

Mueller and Lewandowski then had a great opportunity to equalize, which came due to a much better game by Bayern in the 34th minute. Lewandowski left the ball with his back to the goal, leaving the ball for Leon Goretzka, who hit the net from ten meters.

In the 48th minute, De Jong missed the opportunity, and Lewandowski’s goal was canceled three minutes later due to the backcourt. Bayern attacked and throughout the second half were a better team, and another goal was annulled due to a Lewandowski foul. The Seville defense withstood all the attacks and welcomed their big chance two minutes before the end of the Spanish team. Moroccan Nesyri headed towards Neuer himself, who stopped his shot and the duel went into overtime.

The Bavarians came to victory in the 104th minute, with a goal by the “joker from the bench” Javi Martinez, who after a shot by Alaba and the defense of goalkeeper Bouno scored with his head for 2-1.

In this competition so far neither the Bavarian and Andalusian clubs have been very successful, both celebrating only once so far, Sevilla in 2006 after which they were defeated in the next five finals and Bayern in 2013 with three previous defeats.

Tonight’s triumph brought Bayern five million euros and Sevilla 3.8 million euros.


Scorers: 0-1 Ocampos (13pen), 1-1 Goretzka (34), 2-1 Javi Martinez (104)

Taylor from England judged in front of 18,000 spectators at the Puškaš Arena stadium.

BAYERN: Neuer; Pavard, Süle, Hernandez (Javi Martinez, 99), Alaba (Boateng, 115); Goretzka (Davies, 99), Kimmich, Sane (Tolisso, 70), Müller, Gnabry; Lewandowski

SEVILLA: Bounou; Escudero, Kounde, Diego Carlos, Jesus Navas; RAKITIĆ (Torres, 56), Fernando, Jordan (Vasquez, 93); Ocampos, De Jong (Nesyri, 56), Suso (Gudelj, 77)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in News