Connect with us
oppabet gambling website 2022

Portugal squad for World Cup qualifiers announced

Latest Football News

Portugal squad for World Cup qualifiers announced

Portugal squad for World Cup qualifiers announced

All the teams are gearing up for a place in the FIFA World Cup. Teams are being announced one by one for the World Cup Qualifiers. A few days ago, Lionel Messi’s Argentina football team was announced. He has achieved superstar status in the current football world. Now another superstar Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal squad for World Cup qualifiers has been announced.

Portugal has included Cristiano Ronaldo in the squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers. This will give the Juventus striker a chance to break the record for most goals in men’s international football. Coach Fernando Santos named Ronaldo in Portugal’s squad on Thursday. The 36-year-old scored the 109th goal for Portugal in Euro 2020 equalizing Ali Daei’s record of the highest goalscorer. He reached Iran striker Ali Daei’s record for most goals in international football.

Seven players from Euro 2020 team were left off Santos’ list, including Atlético Madrid’s João Félix because of injury. Others not included were Nélson Semedo, William Carvalho and Renato Sanches. Ricardo Pereira and João Mário were back in the list after not playing at Euro 2020.

Santos called up three newcomers to the national team — Porto midfielder Otávio, Sporting Lisbon defender Gonçalo Inácio and Porto goalkeeper Diogo Costa. Portugal will take on Ireland and Azerbaijan in September and will also play World Cup hosts Qatar.

Portugal squad for World Cup qualifiers

Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Rui Patrício (Roma), Diogo Costa (Porto)

Defenders: João Cancelo (Manchester City), Ricardo Pereira (Leicester), Domingos Duarte (Granada), Gonçalo Inácio (Sporting Lisbon), Pepe (Porto), Rúben Dias (Manchester City), Nuno Mendes (Sporting Lisbon), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfielders: Danilo Pereira (Paris Saint-Germain), João Palhinha (Sporting Lisbon), Rúben Neves (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), João Moutinho (Wolverhampton Wanderers), João Mário (Benfica), Otávio (Porto)

Forwards: Pedro Gonçalves (Sporting Lisbon), André Silva (Eintracht Frankfurt), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Gonçalo Guedes (Valencia), Rafa Silva (Benfica)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Must See

More in Latest Football News