Connect with us
oppabet gambling website 2022

Alexia Putellas crowned women’s Ballon d’Or winner

EPL Transfer News

Alexia Putellas crowned women’s Ballon d’Or winner

Alexia Putellas crowned women’s Ballon d’Or winner

Ballon d’Or awards were announced last night, and Paris Saint-Germain superstar Lionel Messi grabbed the trophy for the seventh time while Alexia Putellas from Barcelona women’s football team is on cloud nine as she wins the title for the first time. The 27-year-old was a key player in Barcelona’s triple season, helping the club win the Champions League, the Spanish League, and the Spanish Cup.

In 2021, in an outstanding Barcelona team, Putellas showed remarkable player participation, contributing with 37 goals and 27 assists. She surpassed her Barcelona teammate Jennifer Hermoso for the award, it would have been handed over to her for the third time. Putellas looks happy as she poses with the Golden Ball holding it in her arms with a wide smile in a picture she posted on her Instagram

This prestigious football award for the Women’s team was introduced in 2018 and was won by Norwegian Ada Hegerberg, while American Megan Rapinoe became the second winner the following year. Last year’s awards were canceled amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Putellas poses after receiving the Women’s Golden Ball / Ballon d’Or Award. The timing of this season’s awards in the midst of an international women’s break came under criticism, a decision that made it difficult for some of the nominees to attend. For example, Australia and Chelsea star Sam Kerr, who is in the running to be crowned the best player in the women’s game, is probably notably absent from the ceremony, where Matilda faces America in Newcastle on Tuesday. 

Women’s Ballon d’Or winners

Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain/Barcelona)

Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)

Vivian Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal)

Likee Martens (Netherlands/Barcelona)

Christine Sinclair (Canada/Portland Storm)

Pernil Harder (Denmark/Chelsea)

Ashley Lawrence (Canada/Paris St. Germain)

Jesse Fleming (Canada/Chelsea)

Fran Kirby (England/Chelsea)

Copa Trophy Top-3 (Young Player)

Pedri (Spain/Barcelona)

Jude Bellingham (England/Borussia Dortmund)

Jamal Musiala (Germany/Bayern Munich)

Yashin Trophy Top 3 (Goalkeeper)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/AC Milan – Paris Saint Germain)

Eduard Mendy (Senegal/Chelsea)

Yan Oblak (Slovakia/Atletico Madrid)

Must See

    More in EPL Transfer News