Connect with us


Coupe de la Ligue retires and PSG won the last trophy

Coupe de la Ligue retires and PSG won the last trophy

PSG has clinched the final domestic quadruple in French football history, after beating Lyon on penalties to win the last Coupe de la Ligue trophy.

The final had to be decided by a shootout after a goalless stalemate in normal and extra time, which saw Lyon’s Bertrand Traore miss following 10 perfect penalties, leaving Pablo Sarabia to clinch a shootout win.

The Coupe de la Ligue, which was first introduced in 1994, will now be retired following a lack of public interest. 

It will no longer be possible to win a domestic quadruple in French football.

PSG won three titles this season winning Super Cup, French Cup, and Ligue 1 title.

PSG – Lyon 0:0 (6:5 pens)

Penalties: Di Maria, Verratti, Paredes, Herrera, Neymar, Sarabia – Andersen, Toko Ekambi, Caqueret, Mendes, Aouar, Traore-miss

PSG: Navas – Kurzawa (70′ Kehrer), Thiago Silva (90′ Paredes), Kimpembe, Bakker – Gueye (58′ Herrera), Marquinhos (114′ Diallo), Verratti – Di Maria, Icardi (58′ Sarabia), Neymar

Lyon: Lopes – Denayer, Marcelo (81′ Andersen), Marcal – Guimaraes (65′ Mendes) – Dubois,Caqueret, Aouar, Cornet – Dembele (80′ Traore), Depay (80′ Toko Ekambi)

Yellow cards: Thiago Silva, Herrera, Marquinhos, Paredes, Di Maria – Caqueret, Guimaraes, Marcal

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in News