Connect with us

Lionel Messi creates history winning most Ballon d’Or award

Latest Football News

Lionel Messi creates history winning most Ballon d’Or award

Lionel Messi creates history winning most Ballon d’Or award

Argentine great footballer Lionel Messi creates history by winning the Ballon d’Or for the 7th time late on Monday night. In the past, Messi holds the title six times and in 2021 he was in competition with Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho from Chelsea. Football news reports that Polish forward Robert Lewandowski won the best striker of the year award and stood second followed by Jorginho in third, while Messi’s immediate competitor for 13 years Cristiano Ronaldo from Manchester United landed in sixth place.

Lionel Messi has gone several miles ahead of Portugal’s star striker Cristiano Ronaldo in terms of winning the most Ballons d’Or. The 34-year-old Messi creates history as he now has 7 awards to his name, while 36-year-old Ronaldo has won this honor 5 times. Messi, who arrived at PSG from Barcelona, ​​won the Best Player of the Year award for the first time in 2009. He won this title in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and now in 2021.

Messi, who won this trophy leaving behind all the world’s stalwarts, felt that 2019 would be the last year of his reign. He said, “It is wonderful to receive this honour. Two years ago I thought this would be the last one.” Messi and Ronaldo have won this award a total of 12 times since 2008. This shows that these two players are dominating the world of football.

Not only this but Messi was also ranked second 5 times in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017, while it happened 6 times with Ronaldo (2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2018). On the other hand, this trophy in the women’s category was won by Alexia Putellas of Spain. She was instrumental in making Barcelona the winner of the Champions League. Alexia was nominated and lifts her trophy for the first time.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Must See

More in Latest Football News