Connect with us

La Liga: Real Madrid win fourth straight El Clasico

La Liga: Real Madrid win fourth straight El Clasico

International Football Leagues

La Liga: Real Madrid win fourth straight El Clasico

Real Madrid secured a fourth consecutive ‘El Clasico’ victory for the first time since 1965, thanks to David Alaba’s first Real Madrid goal and an injury-time strike by Lucas Vazquez. The Blaugrana dominated possession in the football match but ultimately created little to trouble Thibaut Courtois.

Barça’s wastefulness proved to be their undoing as they fell into the Real Madrid counter-attacking trap and went a goal behind before the half time break when David Alaba fired his first goal for the club past Marc-Andre ter Stegen into the top right corner from the edge of the box.

Ronald Koeman needed a huge second half from his side to claw back a result as he was in danger of becoming only the second Barcelona manager to lose his first three El Clasicos’. To add an attacking spark Philippe Coutinho was introduced for the hosts, and within three minutes of the restart he had a close range effort blocked, whilst Fati had one saved.

Los Blancos’regained control and initiated their plan to see out the game after those initial attempts from the hosts. Carlo Ancelotti had a point to prove of his own, seeking a first win at Camp Nou in five visits. Deep into an injury time Lucas Vazquez doubled the lead for the visitors.

Sergio Aguero came off the bench to pull one back the goals weren’t over yet though, but it was too little too late to restore the parity. Moving five points ahead of the Catalan rivals Carlo Ancelotti’s men have now regained the La Liga leadership. Watch football highlights as Real Madrid won the fourth straight El Clasico match in La Liga.

Barcelona – Real Madrid 1:2

Goals: Aguero 90+7’ – Alaba 32’, Lucas 90+3’

Sevilla – Levante 5:3

Goals: Torres 8’, Mir 24’, Diego Carlos 38’, El Haddadi 50’, Reges 64’ –

Morales 33’,55’, Melero 66’

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Must See

More in International Football Leagues