Connect with us

Fernando Santos announced Portugal 26-man squad for Euro 2020

Fernando Santos announced Portugal 26-man squad for Euro 2020

Latest Football News

Fernando Santos announced Portugal 26-man squad for Euro 2020

Portugal national team manager Fernando Santos has announced 26-player squad for Euro 2020. The team seek back-to-back European Championship titles. Portugal is set to enter Euro 2020 next month as defending champions with Cristiano Ronaldo reported to leading his nation to glory.

To begin the battle of their European Championship title, Portugal will meet Hungary in Budapest on June 15. In their second match, four days later they will face 2014 World Cup winners Germany in Munich before concluding their Group F campaign on June 23 in Budapest against current world champions France.

Five years ago during Euro 2016 few people predicted Portugal to win, though they challenged the odds by defeating host country France in added time with a late goal from Eder, former Swansea striker.

Cristiano Ronaldo is one of eight forwards named in Santos’ 26-man party, with Liverpool’s Diogo Jota also given the nod. Portugal is alleged to hand over the charge to Ronaldo, whose club Juventus lifted the 2021 Coppa Italia trophy.

Below is a detailed squad list of Portugal for Euro 2020, as the team will kick off their first challenge against Hungary on June 15, before facing Germany on June 19 and France on June 23.

Portugal squad for Euro 2020

Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Rui Patrício (Wolves) Rui Silva (Granada)

Defenders: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City), Nelson Semedo (Wolves), Jose Fonte (Lille), Pepe (Porto), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Nuno Mendes (Sporting CP), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfielders: Danilo Pereira (Paris Saint-Germain), Joao Palhinha (Sporting CP), Ruben Neves (Wolves), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Joao Moutinho (Wolves), Renato Sanches (Lille), Sergio Oliveira (Porto) William Carvalho (Real Betis)

Forwards: Pedro Goncalves (Sporting CP), Andre Silva (Eintracht Frankfurt), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Goncalo Guedes (Valencia), Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid) Rafa Silva (Benfica)

Click here to know Euro 2020 match schedule.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Must See

More in Latest Football News