Connect with us
oppabet gambling website 2022

Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel won UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year award

Latest Football News

Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel won UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year award

Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel won UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year award

UEFA announced the player of the year and coach of the year award yesterday during the announcement of the Champion League draw for the season 2021/22. Thomas Tuchel, the head coach of Chelsea, has been named UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year for 2020-21 for winning the Champions League with the Blues last season. 

“Congratulations to Thomas Tuchel, who today has been named the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year following his sensational start to life at Chelsea!” the club wrote in a statement on the official website.

The former PSG manager led Chelsea to Champions League glory in May following a brilliant few months in charge after taking over from Frank Lampard in January. For the second time in the club’s history, Chelsea won the European Champions title defeating Manchester City 1-0 in the 2020/21 final. Later this month the London club also won the UEFA Super Cup defeating Villarreal on penalties.

Tuchel, who led PSG to the Champions League final in 2019-20, became the first coach in men’s football history to reach two finals in a row. He also guided Chelsea to the FA Cup final, where they were defeated 1-0 by Leicester City, and fourth place in the Premier League.

On receiving the award Tuchel said, “It’s like a dream. I never thought about reaching these heights when I started coaching, so it’s simply amazing. It feels a bit surreal, but we are absolutely delighted. Like always it is a team effort in football, so I take it on behalf of my whole staff, and everybody who works hard at Cobham every day to push the team to the limits.”

Last year Hansi Flick, who has now replaced Joachim Low to lead the German National team, won the award of 2019-20 coach of the year. Tuchel beat off the competition from Pep Guardiola of Manchester City and Roberto Mancini of Italy to win the award

Tuchel not only won titles but build up a strong team with Jorginho winning UEFA Men’s player of the year award, Edouard Mendy named Goalkeeper of the Year and Kante received the award for best midfielder.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Must See

More in Latest Football News