sponsor banner
ads banner
Europa LeagueAS Roma 1-0 Feyenoord

AS Roma 1-0 Feyenoord

AS Roma secures their first major European trophy by winning the Europa Conference League, defeating Feyenoord 1-0 in Tirana.

Nicolo Zaniolo scored the game’s only goal in the first half to earn the crown for his team.

The Dutch outfit pushed in the second period and came close twice as Gianluca Mancini almost scored an own goal before a super stop from Rui Patricio denied Tyrell Malacia.

However, Roma had the nous to see out the contest to lift their first trophy in 14 years.

Starting lineup:

AS ROMA (3-5-2): Rui Patricio; Chris Smalling, Ibanez, Gianluca Mancini; Rick Karsdorp, Bryan Cristante, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Nicola Zalewski, Lorenzo Pellegrini; Tammy Abraham, Nicolo Zaniolo.

FEYENOORD (4-2-3-1): Justin Bijlow; Lutsharel Geertruida, Gernot Trauner, Marcos Senesi, Tyrell Malacia; Fredrik Aursnes, Orkun Kokcu; Reiss Nelson, Guus Til, Luis Sinisterra; Cyriel Dessers.


GOALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!! ZANIOLO PUTS ROMA AHEAD!!!!!! 1-0!!!!! The Italian outfit opens the scoring with the game’s first chance, courtesy of a smart finish from Zaniolo. Mancini floats across to the back post that sails over Trauner and is chested down by Zaniolo. He has to react quickly amid the onrushing Bijlow, but he pokes an effort past the Feyenoord keeper, which finds the back of the net.

What does it mean? History for Mourinho. 

Roma’s only previous success on the continent came in the 1960-61 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup, which was not affiliated with UEFA.

By leading Roma to the Conference League title, Mourinho became the first coach to win a major European trophy with four different clubs.

The Portuguese won the UEFA Cup and Champions League with Porto, the Champions League while at Inter, and the Europa League during his time at Manchester United.

So, what’s next?

Both teams end their campaign and will head off into the summer, with AS Roma basking in their triumph.

The two sides will return to European action next season in the Europa League, having qualified domestically for the competition.

Likewise, for more football news like this, click here.

More Football News

sponsor banner
sponsor banner
sponsor banner